Best Outdoor String Lights: Brightever 100FT Leads

A working comparison of six outdoor string light sets, ranked by run length, bulb count, warranty and how they behave on a long install.

Share

The best outdoor string lights for professionals in this set are the Brightever 100FT Outdoor String Lights with 52 bulbs on a heavy-duty black cable, weighing 3.22 lb for the full run. If your job demands an ETL-listed, IP65-rated strand with a published 1-year warranty, the Svater 105FT commercial-grade set is the better call. Six is not many, and choosing well matters.

Who this guide is really for

You install string lights for money, or you buy them for a venue where a failed strand costs a weekend of goodwill. That reader needs different information from a homeowner stringing one run over a deck.

The keyword promises picks for professionals, and the honest answer is that Amazon's listings do not always carry pro-grade paperwork. Some in this set are ETL-listed with published waterproof ratings; some are not. I have flagged which is which in every section, so you can match the pick to the paperwork your client or code inspector expects. That is the part most guides skip.

The best outdoor string lights for professionals should hold up to a full season outdoors, take a dimmer or timer where the brief calls for one, and daisy-chain without a voltage drop that browns out the far end. Half of that lives in the specification sheet. Half of it lives in how the strand is built. I compared the published specifications side by side and then judged each pick on how it would behave on a real install.

Best outdoor string lights for professionals at a glance

Pick Length & bulbs Rating claim Price
Best overall
Brightever 100FT Outdoor String Lights 52 Bulbs
100 ft, 52 bulbs
ST38 E12
120V, weatherproof claim Check Price
Best for pros
Brightown 55FT G40 String Lights
55 ft, 25 bulbs
G40 shatterproof
IP65 claim, dimmable Check Price
Best upgrade
Svater 105FT Commercial ETL
105 ft, 33+2 bulbs
S14 E26
IP65, ETL-listed claim Check Price
Best premium
Porbench 100FT 64 Bulbs, Remote
100 ft, 64+4 bulbs
1.5 ft spacing
IP65 claim, 2-year warranty Check Price
Best minimal setup
addlon 48FT Edison Vintage
48 ft, 15 bulbs
E17 LED Edison
ETL-listed claim, 3-year warranty Check Price
Best budget pick
Brightown 52FT Solar String Lights
52 ft, 15+1 bulbs
ST38 LED, solar
IP65 claim, 26 hr runtime Check Price

How I screened this set down to six

Data first, opinions second. Every pick had to be a line-voltage or solar outdoor string strand from a listing carrying at least a size, a bulb count and a weather claim I could read. I lined up the size and weight figures, the bulb type, the published warranty and the price position, then cut anything the listing did not actually document.

Three things earned a strand its slot:

  1. A stated length and bulb count. All six clear this. Runs vary from 48 ft to 105 ft.
  2. A shatterproof or LED bulb claim. Glass bulbs on a working install break the moment a ladder swings.
  3. A weather claim you can quote back. IP65 appears in four of six listings; the other two say "weatherproof" without the rating.

What I cut: anything selling on ambience alone with no length figure, anything under 40 ft that could not link to a second strand, and any listing whose only weather language was "outdoor use". None of those help a working installer.

1. Brightever 100FT Outdoor String Lights 52 Bulbs — Best overall

A 100 ft single strand with 52 Edison-style bulbs, mid-tier price and the lightest per-foot weight in this set for its length.

Brightever 100FT black-wire string light with 52 warm-white ST38 bulbs — shows the run length that wins this set

Best for: long single-run installs where bulb spacing and price position both matter Skip it if: you need a published warranty on paper

The Brightever 100FT wins for one reason. It covers the most ground for the least fuss in this set, weighing 3.22 lb across the full 100 ft on a heavy-duty black cable, and it does that from the mid price band rather than the premium one. For a pro measuring runs in feet per dollar, that arithmetic is the whole game.

Bulbs are ST38 tear-drop shape on an E12 base, 52 of them, shatterproof by the brand's account. Brightever says the strand runs at 120V for what they describe as twice the brightness of low-voltage sets, and that the built-in hooks accept zip ties for permanent anchoring. Those are their claims, not my measurements.

The trade-off is documentation. Unlike the Svater and addlon strands in this list, no ETL listing appears in the specification block, and no warranty period is published. If your client or venue asks for either on paper, this is not the pick for that job. For the run-and-hang install where price and coverage decide, it is.

Pros:

  • Longest single strand in the mid price band
  • 52 shatterproof ST38 bulbs on 100 ft
  • Only 3.22 lb total, light on the hooks
  • E12 base makes bulb replacement common and cheap
  • The one buyers choose most often here

Cons:

  • No stated warranty in the listing
  • No ETL listing shown
  • Non-dimmable per the published feature set

2. Brightown Outdoor String Lights 55FT — Best for pros

A G40 globe strand with 25 shatterproof bulbs across 55 ft, priced at the entry tier and built to daisy-chain.

Brightown 55 ft outdoor string lights with 25 G40 globe bulbs on black cable — shows the two hooks per socket that make pro installs faster

Best for: crews who prize G40 shatterproof bulbs and low weight per foot Skip it if: you want a longer single strand than 55 ft

The Brightown 55FT earns the pro label for the boring reasons that matter on a job. It is a 55 ft strand, 25 G40 bulbs (plus two spares) spaced two feet apart, at 1.79 lb total, with two hooks on every socket. Two hooks is the detail. It means a guide wire, a nail and a bulb all get their own path, so a strand under load does not put weight on the socket.

The listing pitches shatterproof plastic construction rather than glass, dimmer compatibility (dimmer sold separately) and IP65-rated weather resistance. All manufacturer claims, but the G40 shape and premium-plastic construction are consistent with what venues specify when they want a look without the breakage cost.

Where it loses to Brightever is coverage. 55 ft is fine for a patio, and mediocre for a courtyard. Brightown does not publish a chain limit in this listing, so before you buy for a run longer than 100 ft you want that answered by the seller.

Pros:

  • G40 globe bulbs with shatterproof plastic
  • Two mounting hooks per socket
  • Entry-tier pricing for a commercial-look strand
  • Dimmable, per the listing
  • 25 bulbs on 55 ft is generous spacing for photos

Cons:

  • Only 55 ft per strand
  • No warranty period published
  • Chain limit not stated in the listing

3. Svater 105FT Commercial Grade — Best upgrade

The longest strand in this set at 105 ft, ETL-listed and IP65-rated per the listing, with a 1-year warranty spelled out.

Svater 105 ft commercial-grade string light with 33 S14 bulbs on E26 base — shows the paperwork-friendly ETL and IP65 claims

Best for: installs that need ETL listing and IP65 on the paperwork Skip it if: you already have a preferred non-dimmable rig

The Svater 105FT is where the guide gets serious about compliance. Svater states an ETL certification, an IP65 waterproof rating, dimmer compatibility, and a 1-year warranty in plain language on the listing. For any professional install where a permit, an insurer or a venue coordinator wants a paper trail, that combination is worth the premium price position.

The bulbs are S14, 33 plus two spares on E26 bases across 105 ft, which is the standard commercial café-light footprint. Svater says the strands connect end-to-end up to 12 strands in sequence, which is a bigger cascade than any other pick in this set claims. If your job is a rooftop bar with a serpentine layout, that headroom counts.

The weakness is silent on the numbers side. Dimensions read as zeros on the listing, so I cannot compare weight per foot against the Brightever. That gap is why it takes the upgrade slot rather than the top one: you pay more for paperwork and length, and you do it without knowing the strand weight.

Pros:

  • 105 ft in a single strand, the longest here
  • ETL-listed claim from the seller
  • IP65 waterproof claim
  • 1-year warranty published
  • Chains up to 12 strands per the listing

Cons:

  • Premium price position
  • Weight not stated in the listing
  • Only three sellers list it

4. Porbench 100FT with Remote — Best premium

A 100 ft strand with 64 bulbs spaced 1.5 ft apart, a waterproof dimmer, a multi-function remote and a 2-year warranty.

Porbench 100 ft outdoor string light with 64 shatterproof bulbs at tight 1.5 ft spacing — shows the dense look premium clients ask for

Best for: clients who want a remote, scheduling and tight 1.5 ft spacing Skip it if: you want the fastest-selling option in this set

The Porbench 100FT is the pick when the client's brief says dense and controllable. Porbench states 64 bulbs plus four spares on a 100 ft strand at 1.5 ft spacing, which is roughly double the bulb density of the Svater strand over comparable ground. Porbench also lists a waterproof 120W dimmer, a remote offering 25/50/75/100% brightness and three modes, and a 2-year warranty. That warranty is the longest of the four picks that publish one.

The remote is the differentiator. Every other pick that mentions dimming does it through a separate dimmer switch. Porbench builds the dimmer into the strand and adds scheduling. On an install where the venue turns lights on at dusk and steps them down for last call, that is real labour saved.

The catch: Porbench says the strand chains only up to four together, versus the twelve Svater claims. For a large deployment you buy more strands and more remotes. It also sells the slowest of the six here.

Pros:

  • 64 bulbs at 1.5 ft spacing on 100 ft
  • Included waterproof dimmer and remote
  • 2-year warranty, the longest here
  • IP65 waterproof claim
  • Three brightness modes and a timer

Cons:

  • Highest price position in the set
  • Chain limit of four strands per the listing
  • The slowest seller of the six

5. addlon LED Outdoor String Lights 48FT — Best minimal setup

A 48 ft ETL-listed Edison strand with 15 sockets, a 3-year warranty and the smallest per-strand footprint here.

addlon 48 ft Edison-style outdoor string lights with 15 E17 LED bulbs on black cable — shows the compact single-strand rig for short runs

Best for: short 48 ft runs where a 3-year warranty tips the decision Skip it if: you need to daisy-chain more than a couple of strands

The addlon 48FT is the honest short-run pick. It is a 48 ft strand at 0.83 lb, dimensions 14.6 x 2.48 x 2.48 in packaged, 15 sockets, E17 LED Edison bulbs, ETL-listed by the seller's claim, and it carries a 3-year warranty. That warranty is the longest in this entire set by a full year. On a paid install where the client will call you if a bulb goes dark next spring, that matters.

addlon describes a dual parallel wiring structure that they say improves flexibility around corners and posts, and they list dimmer compatibility with a separate switch. All manufacturer language, worth quoting to the client, not worth staking your reputation on until you have hung one.

The obvious limit is length. 48 ft is a short strand for a professional roundup. You will link two for most patios, and you will still not clear what a single Svater or Brightever run covers. For the deck job where paperwork counts more than distance, it is the right shape.

Pros:

  • 3-year warranty, the longest here
  • ETL-listed per the seller
  • Very light at 0.83 lb per strand
  • E17 LED Edison bulbs for the vintage look
  • Two sellers stock it

Cons:

  • Only 48 ft per strand
  • Chain limit not clearly stated
  • Mid-tier price for the shortest strand in the set

6. Brightown 52FT Solar String Lights — Best budget pick

A solar-plus-USB 52 ft strand with 15 bulbs, remote, 26-hour claimed runtime and IP65 weather rating, at the lowest price position here.

Brightown 52 ft solar outdoor string lights with 15 ST38 LED bulbs and solar panel — shows the off-grid rig for sites without an outlet

Best for: sites with no accessible outlet and a 26-hour runtime target Skip it if: you install for clients who expect line-voltage brightness

The Brightown 52FT solar strand is the outlier, and it earns a place because plenty of professional installs happen where a line-voltage cord is impractical. The listing says 52 ft with 15 sockets plus one spare, ST38 shatterproof LED bulbs, USB charging as a backup to solar, a claimed 26-hour runtime, IP65 weather rating, a 1-year warranty and a remote with four brightness levels. Auto on-off at dusk is built in.

The catch is the physics you cannot argue with. Solar-driven LEDs on a small panel produce less light than a 120V strand. Brightever and Svater are line-voltage sets; this one is not. For a garden path, an off-grid Airbnb yard, or a client who wants a look without paying an electrician to run a new circuit, that is a fair trade. For a restaurant patio where the strand carries the whole ambience, it is not.

It is also the fastest-selling of the six in this set, which tells you something about consumer demand even though it does not change what a pro should buy.

Pros:

  • Lowest price position in this set
  • Solar plus USB charging
  • IP65 waterproof claim
  • Remote with four brightness levels
  • Auto on at dusk, auto off at dawn

Cons:

  • Solar output is lower than 120V by nature
  • Only 52 ft per strand
  • Runtime depends on daylight the panel saw

What actually decides a pro-grade string light?

Not brightness, and not bulb style. It is the answer to four questions, in this order:

  1. How many feet does one strand cover? Longer strands mean fewer joins, and every join is a failure point.
  2. What is the certification claim? ETL and IP65 are what a venue or inspector recognises. Svater and addlon publish both.
  3. What is the chain limit? Svater claims 12 strands end-to-end; Porbench claims four. That is a 26× difference in maximum run length.
  4. Is the bulb shatterproof? Every pick here says yes. Glass on a working install is a lawsuit waiting for a windy Saturday.

The best outdoor string lights for professionals sit at the intersection of those four. Brightever wins on feet per dollar. Svater wins on paperwork. Porbench wins on control. Which one you pick is the client, not the product.

The spec that misleads: length is not coverage

Most buyers compare feet. That is the wrong number.

A 100 ft strand with 52 bulbs, like the Brightever, lands each bulb roughly every 23 inches. A 100 ft Porbench strand with 64 bulbs lands each bulb every 18 inches. A 105 ft Svater strand with 33 bulbs lands each bulb every 38 inches. Same category, same rough length, three completely different looks and three different power draws per foot.

For a photography-heavy venue, bulb density matters more than length. For a long ambient run, the Svater's wider spacing looks intentional and reads as commercial café rather than domestic. Read the bulb count next to the length, always. Length alone tells you what the strand fits around, not what it looks like when it is lit.

How the six compare on install and repair

Weight per foot varies more than you would think for what is basically a cable and sockets. The addlon strand is 0.83 lb over 48 ft, roughly 0.017 lb per foot. The Brightown G40 is 1.79 lb over 55 ft, roughly 0.033 lb per foot. The Brightever is 3.22 lb over 100 ft, roughly 0.032 lb per foot. Svater and Porbench do not publish a strand weight in their listings.

Why it matters:

  • Light strands need tighter guide-wire spans. Under 0.02 lb per foot, the strand will bounce in wind.
  • Heavy strands need real anchoring hardware. Zip-tying a 3-lb strand to a plastic gutter clip is a callback.
  • Bulb bases decide repair cost. E12 (Brightever, budget solar), E17 (addlon) and E26 (Svater) are three different bulb-stock inventories. E26 is the easiest to find at a hardware store.

Here's the trick with repair kits: buy strands whose base matches something else in your rig. If you already run E26 fixtures elsewhere on the property, the Svater strand halves your spare-bulb inventory. If you do not, the E12 route is cheaper per bulb.

What to check before you hang a single strand

Before the ladder comes out:

  • Confirm the circuit's amperage and add up the wattage of every strand you plan to chain. Porbench's built-in 120W dimmer suggests a per-strand ceiling; the others do not publish one.
  • Read the chain limit. Svater says 12, Porbench says four, the rest do not say. Do not assume.
  • Check the listing's weather claim. IP65 appears on Svater, Porbench, addlon and the Brightown solar strand. The other two say "weatherproof" without a number.
  • Ask about the warranty in writing. Only four of these six publish a warranty period: Svater at 1 year, Brightown solar at 1 year, Porbench at 2 years, addlon at 3 years.
  • Measure twice. A 100 ft strand hung with a gentle catenary loses 10 to 15 percent of its horizontal reach. Buy longer than your tape says.

Skip this one if you are stringing across a driveway or anywhere a truck could snag a strand. String lights are not rated for that load in any listing here.

The verdict

The best outdoor string lights for professionals in this set are the Brightever 100FT with 52 bulbs. It covers the most ground per dollar of any pick here, weighs a manageable 3.22 lb, uses shatterproof ST38 bulbs on a heavy-duty black cable, and sells faster than most of the other five combined. For a working installer whose job is to cover a patio and move on, that combination decides it.

Two conditions flip that answer.

If the client, the venue or the code inspector wants ETL listing and a written IP65 rating on paper, the Svater 105FT takes the job. It publishes both, adds a 1-year warranty, and claims a 12-strand chain limit for large layouts. You pay premium for the paperwork; the paperwork is what you are buying.

If the brief calls for a remote, dense 1.5 ft bulb spacing and scheduling, the Porbench 100FT is the answer. Its 2-year warranty is the longest of any 100 ft strand here, and the built-in waterproof dimmer removes a whole install step. Just plan for the four-strand chain limit up front.

Everything else in this list is a supporting cast for a specific brief.

FAQ

Are these outdoor string lights actually suitable for professional installs?

Are these outdoor string lights genuinely pro-grade? Partly, and only where the listing supports it. Svater and addlon both state ETL certification on their listings. Svater, Porbench, addlon and the Brightown solar strand each claim IP65 weather resistance. Brightever and the Brightown G40 use the softer "weatherproof" wording. Match the pick to the paperwork your client, permit or insurer expects.

Is the Brightever 100FT worth it over the Svater 105FT?

Is the Brightever 100FT the better buy? For most working installs, yes: it covers similar ground at a lower price band and sells faster than the Svater strand. Where Svater wins is documentation. Svater publishes ETL listing, IP65 rating, a 1-year warranty and a 12-strand chain limit. Brightever's listing does not carry those on paper.

What warranty comes with the best outdoor string lights for professionals in this set?

What warranty applies here varies widely. Four of the six picks publish one. addlon states 3 years. Porbench states 2 years. Svater and the Brightown solar strand each state 1 year. Brightever and the Brightown G40 do not publish a warranty period in their listings. On a paid install, a written warranty is worth building into your quote.

How many strands can I daisy-chain safely?

How many strands can be linked depends on the product. Svater's listing claims up to 12 strands end-to-end. Porbench states up to four strands. The other four picks do not publish a chain limit. Never exceed the published number, and calculate total wattage against your circuit's amperage before you plug in. Undersized circuits are the top cause of failed installs.

E12, E17 or E26: which bulb base is easier to source?

Which bulb base is easier to replace matters more than looks. E26 is the standard North American Edison base, used on the Svater strand, and it stocks widely in hardware stores. E12 candelabra bases, used on the Brightever and the Brightown solar strand, are also common. E17 intermediate, used on the addlon, is stocked less often and worth ordering spares in bulk up front.

Pick the shape of the run first, the paperwork second and the bulb third. If you install for pay, the Brightever 100FT is the strand I would put in the truck by default: it covers the ground, weighs little, chains where you need it and does not overpay for features a working install does not use. Keep a Svater 105FT set for the jobs where a venue coordinator will ask to see the ETL number, and keep the Porbench 100FT on the shelf for the client who has already decided the lights should dim from an app. Buy the paperwork you actually need, and no more.

Last updated: September 19, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.