Best Patio Heater for Pros: Heliosa Leads

A pro-grade patio heater pick has to hold up to weather, staff traffic and guest complaints. Here is which of seven listings actually earns that job.

Share

The best cordless patio heater for professionals is the Heliosa Professional Electric Infrared Outdoor Patio Heater, a wall-mounted 8 lb unit rated IPX5 and claimed to cover about 160 sq ft of semi-enclosed space at a 9 to 10 ft mounting height. If you need freestanding heat with a tall throw and a weighted base, the OLIXIS 48,000 BTU Patio Heater with sandbox base is the better fit, at 87 x 17.7 x 17.7 in and a claimed 18-foot diameter coverage.

Best cordless patio heater for professionals at a glance

Pick Fuel & power Coverage claim Price
Best overall
Heliosa Professional Electric Infrared Outdoor Patio
Electric 120V plug-in 160 sq ft claim Check Price
Best for pros
OLIXIS 48,000 BTU Patio Heater
Propane 48,000 BTU 18-ft diameter claim Check Price
Runner-up
DR. INFRARED HEATER Portable Infrared
Electric 900/1200/1500W Not stated Check Price
Best for beginners
FOOWIN Patio Heater 48,000 BTU
Propane 48,000 BTU Not stated Check Price
Best budget pick
SereneLife Outdoor Electric Patio Heater
Electric 900W 15 sq ft claim Check Price
Best for heavy use
MOMOKOVA Electric Outdoor Patio Heater
Electric 1500W Not stated Check Price
Best for families
sundate Hanging Heater 1500W
Electric 1500W Not stated Check Price

About the word cordless in this category

A short warning before the picks. The search term is "cordless patio heater", and the seven listings that come back are not, strictly speaking, cordless. Every electric pick here uses a standard 120V power cord: the Heliosa ships with a 6 ft plug-in cord, the DR. INFRARED and SereneLife heaters plug into a wall outlet, and the sundate hanging heater is a plug-and-play 120V unit. The propane picks are cord-free but tied to a gas tank.

If you were hoping for a battery-powered patio heater, the products here will not deliver that. What they offer instead is portability without a hardwired install: freestanding, tabletop, wall-mounted or ceiling-hung heaters that plug in or run on propane. That is the honest answer, and it changes what "the best cordless patio heater for professionals" actually means in this set. The deciding question becomes fuel, mounting and coverage, not battery life.

I have flagged this once, at the top, so no reader mistakes what they are buying. Everything below treats the picks as pro-oriented patio heaters, judged on what the specifications actually say.

How I narrowed seven listings to a working shortlist

I lined up all seven listings on a single spreadsheet and struck out anything that did not fit a professional patio brief. Three reasons did most of the cutting.

  1. No published outdoor rating. Any heater without a stated IP rating went to the bottom of the pile. IPX5, IP55 and IP65 all appear in the input, so listings that stayed silent lost ground.
  2. Coverage claims that could not be checked. A pick that publishes a coverage figure in square feet or diameter gives you something to plan around. A pick that only says "wide outdoor application" does not.
  3. Buyer profile mismatch. A 7.71 lb tabletop unit and a 40 lb standing propane heater serve different jobs. Where a listing was clearly narrower than a pro would need, it dropped to a niche award rather than the overall win.

What survived at the top was the Heliosa: designed and manufactured in Italy, IPX5-rated, wall-mounted, and with a specific 160 sq ft coverage claim tied to a stated 9 to 10 ft mounting height. That combination of specifics is what a professional needs to plan a patio zone. Everything else in the set gets a place on the list for the buyer it actually suits.

Electric versus propane: which decides it for a pro?

The obvious specification to compare is wattage against BTU. That is not what decides it. The real choice is where the heat goes and how you install it. Electric infrared warms people and surfaces directly; propane heats a column of air around a tall pole. Pick the wrong one and the guest sitting two feet from the heater is still cold.

Two of the seven listings run on propane. Both claim 48,000 BTU. Five run on 120V electricity, ranging from 900W to 1500W. Fuel choice locks in the install, the storage and the maintenance, so decide it first and then rank on coverage.

1. Heliosa Professional Electric Infrared Outdoor Patio Heater — Best overall

A wall-mounted 120V infrared heater with an IPX5 rating and a specific 160 sq ft coverage claim, designed and manufactured in Italy for commercial patios.

Heliosa 66 Black wall-mounted infrared patio heater — the fixed-mount pro pick in this roundup

Best for: restaurants and hospitality spaces mounting a fixed heater over a semi-enclosed patio Skip it if: you need to move the heater between zones or you have nowhere to mount it

Only two picks in this set publish a specific coverage figure, and the Heliosa is the more useful of them. Heliosa says the 66 Black covers approximately 160 sq ft of semi-enclosed space at the suggested 9 to 10 ft mounting height, which is enough planning data to lay out a real patio. The IPX5 rating means the listing claims it can withstand rain and outdoor elements, which matters more than a marketing bullet when the heater lives on a wall year-round.

The unit itself is compact: 9 x 5.5 x 20 in and 8 lb, with a 6 ft 120V cord. Heliosa says the heat-resistant black safety glass reduces the red glare that puts guests off other infrared bars. It is the most expensive pick here, and the slowest seller of the seven. For a pro operator, those two facts point the same way: it is a fixed-install piece for a specific commercial job, not an impulse buy. The trade-off it makes against the propane picks is reach. Fixed mounting height, a smaller coverage claim, and no portability.

Pros:

  • IPX5 outdoor rating for wall-mounted use
  • Published 160 sq ft coverage at 9 to 10 ft mounting height
  • Heliosa claims reduced red glare from safety glass
  • Compact 9 x 5.5 x 20 in body at 8 lb
  • Designed and manufactured in Italy

Cons:

  • Most expensive pick in this set
  • Requires a wall mount and 120V outlet
  • Slowest seller of the seven listings

2. OLIXIS 48,000 BTU Patio Heater Outdoor Propane Heater — Best for pros

A tall 87 in freestanding propane heater with a sandbox base and a claimed 18-foot heating diameter.

OLIXIS 48,000 BTU standing propane patio heater with sandbox base — the freestanding pro pick

Best for: outdoor venues that need a tall, freestanding heater with a wind-resistant base Skip it if: you cannot run a propane tank or you need a plug-in electric solution

If your patio is open on more than one side, a tall propane heater beats a wall-mounted infrared bar. The OLIXIS stands 87 in tall in a 17.7 x 17.7 in footprint and OLIXIS claims 48,000 BTU heats an 18-foot diameter area within seconds. That is a bigger reach than any electric pick here, and the numbers give you something to draw on a floor plan.

Two features earn the pro award. OLIXIS says the integrated sandbox base can hold sand or water for up to 26.45 lbs of extra weight, which matters on an exposed deck in wind. And the listing describes a dual-protection auto shut-off that cuts gas if the flame goes out. The burner is 304 stainless steel, per the listing. It sells faster than the Heliosa and sits in the second-cheapest slot of the two propane picks. Against the Heliosa, the trade-off is different work: you refill a tank, you store the unit somewhere sheltered off-season, and you deal with a much heavier footprint than a wall mount.

Pros:

  • 48,000 BTU claim with 18-ft diameter coverage
  • Sandbox base adds up to 26.45 lbs for wind resistance
  • OLIXIS claims dual-protection auto shut-off
  • 304 stainless steel double-layer burner per the listing
  • Round tabletop for drinks and phones

Cons:

  • Requires propane tank and outdoor storage
  • Large 87 x 17.7 x 17.7 in footprint
  • No published warranty in the listing

3. DR. INFRARED HEATER Portable Infrared Indoor and Outdoor — Runner-up

A 35 in infrared bar with three power settings, an IP55 rating and a published 1-year limited components warranty.

DR. INFRARED HEATER 35-inch infrared bar with remote — the plug-and-go runner-up

Best for: operators who want a plug-in infrared bar with three power settings and a published warranty Skip it if: you need coverage larger than a single table or bar-top zone

This is the pick I keep coming back to for smaller pro spaces. DR. INFRARED HEATER lists three power settings at 900W, 1200W and 1500W on a 120V circuit, an IP55 rating for indoor and outdoor use, and a remote. The 1-year limited components warranty is the only published warranty among the seven listings apart from the MOMOKOVA. That gets my attention for a heater that will run every evening for a season.

The body is 4 x 35 x 8 in and 8 lb, with a wall and ceiling mounting bracket included per the listing. In a set where four picks publish no warranty at all, the DR-238 offers a specific one, and it sells faster than any other electric pick here. Against the Heliosa, it gives up the specific coverage figure and the IPX5 rating, but it costs less and offers three-step power control. Against the propane picks, it gives up total heat output for a plug-in install with no tank.

Pros:

  • Three power settings at 900W, 1200W and 1500W
  • IP55 rating for indoor and outdoor use
  • 1-year limited components warranty
  • Remote control and mounting brackets included
  • Sells faster than any other electric pick here

Cons:

  • No published coverage figure
  • Only two sellers list it
  • 2017 model with no coverage-in-square-feet claim

4. FOOWIN Patio Heater 48,000 BTU — Best for beginners

A 40 lb freestanding propane heater with a weighted base plate and a 48,000 BTU heating claim.

FOOWIN 48,000 BTU standing propane patio heater — the beginner-friendly propane pick

Best for: first-time buyers setting up a backyard or small commercial patio with propane Skip it if: you need infrared electric heat or you cannot store a 40 lb freestanding unit

The FOOWIN is the second propane pick in this set, at 79.7 x 14.7 x 30.4 in and 40 lb. FOOWIN says it uses a coated metal main body with a stainless steel reflector hood and burner assembly, and includes an independent weight base plate for stability and wind resistance. The listing describes multiple safety mechanisms but does not name a specific auto shut-off circuit the way OLIXIS does.

Between the two propane picks, this is the shorter and lighter option, and it sits in the mid price band while the OLIXIS sits in the premium band. FOOWIN calls out easy assembly, which for a first-time buyer matters more than an extra spec. The trade-off is what it does not tell you. No published coverage in feet or diameter, no named burner grade beyond stainless steel, no warranty in the listing. If this is your first propane heater and you want the simpler of the two to set up, it earns the spot. If you want the more detailed data sheet, step up to the OLIXIS.

Pros:

  • 48,000 BTU heating claim
  • 40 lb weight with independent base plate
  • Stainless steel reflector hood and burner per the listing
  • Mid price band, cheaper than the OLIXIS
  • FOOWIN calls out easy assembly

Cons:

  • No published coverage figure in feet
  • No specific auto shut-off circuit named
  • No published warranty

5. SereneLife Outdoor Electric Patio Heater — Best budget pick

A 900W standing infrared heater at 7.71 lb with an IP65 rating and a published 15 sq ft heating range.

SereneLife 900W standing infrared patio heater — the budget pick in this set

Best for: a small covered zone up to 15 sq ft where 900W is enough Skip it if: you need to warm a full table of guests or an exposed patio

The SereneLife is the cheapest of the seven and the only pick that publishes both an IP65 rating and a specific heating area. SereneLife says the 37.4 in unit covers up to 15 sq ft, which is small but honest. The frame is aluminium alloy per the listing, ETL-certified, and the brand claims an 88% efficiency rating on the carbon fiber heating elements. Safety features listed include a 360-degree tip-over switch, overheat protection and a mesh guard.

At 7.71 lb it is the lightest standing heater here. For a pro operator, this is a spot-heat unit, not a room warmer. Point it at a host stand, a bar-top waiting zone, or a two-seat table under an awning, and it earns its place. Against the Heliosa, it gives up a lot of coverage and the wall-mount install, but it takes almost no floor space and moves easily between zones. The trade-off is capacity. 900W is not going to warm a six-top on an open patio.

Pros:

  • IP65 rating, the highest in this set
  • Published 15 sq ft heating range
  • 7.71 lb, easy to move between zones
  • ETL-certified with 360-degree tip-over switch
  • Cheapest of the seven picks

Cons:

  • Only 900W of heating power
  • Small 15 sq ft coverage
  • No published warranty

6. MOMOKOVA Electric Outdoor Patio Heater — Best for heavy use

A 1500W tabletop infrared heater with an IP55 rating, a 45° tip-over cutoff and a published 1-year warranty.

MOMOKOVA 1500W tabletop infrared patio heater styled like a modern lamp — the heavy-use tabletop pick

Best for: operators who want a 1500W tabletop unit with a published one-year warranty Skip it if: you need a tall standing heater or ceiling-mounted infrared

Between the two picks that publish a warranty, the MOMOKOVA is the tabletop option. MOMOKOVA lists 1500W of carbon infrared heating on a 31.5 x 17.7 x 17.7 in body, an IP55 rating for rain and dust, and a 45° tip-over auto shut-off. The listing describes it as styled like a modern lamp, which is the polite way of saying it sits on a table rather than the floor.

For heavy-use scenarios, the combination that matters is 1500W plus the one-year warranty plus the IP55 rating. It sits in the entry price band and is the second-cheapest pick here, which makes it a plausible bulk buy for a venue with multiple tables. Against the DR. INFRARED, it drops to a single power setting and no ceiling mount, but it gains a lamp-style tabletop form. The trade-off against the Heliosa is coverage and mounting: this is a table-side heater, not a zone heater.

Pros:

  • 1500W carbon infrared with fast heating claim
  • IP55 waterproof and dustproof rating
  • 45° tip-over auto shut-off
  • Published 1-year warranty
  • Second-cheapest pick in this set

Cons:

  • Single power output, no published stepping
  • No coverage figure in the listing
  • Tabletop form only, no floor stand

7. sundate Hanging Heater 1500W — Best for families

A 1500W ceiling-hung infrared heater at approximately 5 lbs, plug-and-play on a 120V outlet.

sundate 1500W hanging infrared patio heater in brown — the ceiling-mount pick that clears floor space

Best for: covered patios and garages where a ceiling-hung 1500W infrared keeps floor space clear Skip it if: you have no suitable overhead structure to hang it from

The sundate is the only ceiling-suspended pick in the set. sundate lists 1500W of carbon fiber infrared heat, an approximately 5 lb unit, and a 120V plug-and-play install. Dimensions are 18.5 x 18.5 x 10.8 in. The brand says the fanless element is whisper-quiet, which fits the family-patio use case where you do not want a fan running over dinner. Overheat and tip-over protection are both mentioned in the listing.

For a household patio with a pergola or a covered porch, the argument is simple: you get 1500W without giving up any floor space. Against the Heliosa's wall mount, the sundate hangs vertically for downward heat, which suits a table zone directly below it. The trade-off is the install. You need something to hang it from, and the listing does not publish a coverage figure. The other trade-off is price position: it is the second-most expensive pick, which is a lot to pay for a heater without a stated coverage area.

Pros:

  • Ceiling-mount design keeps floor clear
  • 1500W carbon fiber infrared
  • Approximately 5 lb hanging weight
  • 120V plug-and-play install
  • Fanless whisper-quiet operation per the listing

Cons:

  • Requires overhead structure to hang from
  • No published coverage figure
  • Second-most expensive pick here

What coverage claims really tell you

Two picks publish a coverage figure: Heliosa at 160 sq ft claim and SereneLife at 15 sq ft. OLIXIS states an 18-foot diameter, which works out to a different metric. The other four say nothing measurable. That gap alone splits the field.

  • A published coverage figure tells you the brand is willing to be measured against a plan.
  • A missing coverage figure tells you nothing, good or bad, about the actual output.
  • A coverage figure tied to a mounting height, as Heliosa does with its 9 to 10 ft recommendation, is the most useful of all.

If you are laying out a real patio, prefer the picks that give you a number you can draw on a floor plan. If you are spot-heating a table, the number matters less than the wattage and the tip-over cutoff.

How to judge a patio heater listing you did not see here

The seven picks in this roundup are a starting point, not the entire market. If you find a listing elsewhere, use the same checks I used above.

  • Read the IP rating. IPX5, IP55 and IP65 are all in this set. Anything under IPX4 is not built for weather.
  • Look for a coverage figure with units. Square feet, diameter or a mounting height are all useful. A vague "wide application" is not.
  • Check the warranty section. Only two of the seven listings here publish one. That is the pattern for the category.
  • Match fuel to install. Propane is portable and heats a column of air. Electric infrared is plug-in and heats surfaces.
  • Weigh the body. A 7.71 lb electric bar moves between zones. A 40 lb propane stand does not.
  • Read the safety list. Named systems like a 45° tip-over cutoff or a dual-protection gas shut-off are worth more than "comprehensive safety".

Use those checks in order. A listing that clears them is a listing worth pricing. A listing that fails on the first two is not worth reading further.

What owning a pro-grade patio heater actually involves

Most shoppers miss the running costs. Owning any of these is more than the purchase. Propane picks need tank refills, a stored spare, and a place to keep the heater out of the weather off-season. Electric picks need a dedicated 120V outlet on a circuit that can carry 1500W without tripping, and infrared bulbs eventually need replacing. Wall-mounted units need a mounting install; ceiling-hung units need a beam or hook rated for the weight.

Here's the trick with cleaning: infrared reflectors are what make the heat efficient, and dust or grease cuts that efficiency fast. Wipe the reflector at the start of each season and the heater performs closer to the brand's efficiency claims. In practice, a five-minute clean every month is what separates a heater that lasts three seasons from one that lasts one.

The verdict

The Heliosa Professional Electric Infrared Outdoor Patio Heater is the right pick for a professional patio because it is the only heater in this set that pairs an IPX5 outdoor rating with a specific coverage claim tied to a stated mounting height. Wall-mount it at 9 to 10 ft over a semi-enclosed hospitality space and you have a heater you can plan a floor around.

If your patio is open on more than one side, or if you cannot mount a heater to a wall, the OLIXIS 48,000 BTU Patio Heater is the better buy. The 87 in freestanding body, the sandbox base for up to 26.45 lbs of ballast, and the 18-foot diameter heating claim give it a reach the Heliosa cannot match. The cutoff is install. Wall access and a covered zone push you to the Heliosa; open ground and a need for a tank-fed heater push you to the OLIXIS.

If you want plug-in flexibility with a published warranty, the DR. INFRARED HEATER Portable Infrared is the fallback. Three power settings, an IP55 rating, and a 1-year limited components warranty make it the safest electric bet after the Heliosa.

FAQ

Is a 900W patio heater enough for professional use?

A 900W patio heater is enough for spot-heating a small covered zone, like the 15 sq ft area SereneLife claims for its unit, but not for warming a full table on an open patio. For professional use, treat 900W as a supplementary heater at a host stand or two-seat table. Step up to 1500W or a 48,000 BTU propane heater for wider coverage.

Is the Heliosa worth it over the DR. INFRARED?

Worth it over the DR. INFRARED depends on install. The Heliosa is more expensive and publishes a 160 sq ft coverage claim at 9 to 10 ft mounting height, plus an IPX5 rating. The DR. INFRARED lists a 1-year warranty, three power settings from 900W to 1500W, and IP55. Choose the Heliosa for a fixed commercial install; choose the DR. INFRARED for plug-in flexibility.

What does the IP rating on a patio heater actually mean?

The IP rating on a patio heater is a two-digit code for dust and water resistance. IPX5, on the Heliosa, means the listing claims protection against water jets. IP55, on the DR. INFRARED and MOMOKOVA, adds dust protection. IP65, on the SereneLife, is the highest here. For outdoor use, IP55 is a reasonable minimum for a pro patio.

Heliosa versus OLIXIS: which is the better professional pick?

Heliosa versus OLIXIS comes down to fuel and install. The Heliosa is a wall-mounted electric infrared with a 160 sq ft claim and IPX5. The OLIXIS is a freestanding 48,000 BTU propane heater with an 18-ft diameter claim and a sandbox base. Pick Heliosa for fixed hospitality zones. Pick OLIXIS for open patios that need portable, tall, tank-fed heat.

What should I avoid on a patio heater listing?

Avoid a patio heater listing that publishes no IP rating, no coverage figure, and no warranty. That combination gives you nothing to plan around. Four of the seven picks here publish no coverage figure, so it is a common gap, but combined with a missing warranty it becomes a red flag. Also avoid listings that describe safety features without naming a specific cutoff circuit.

Pick your fuel, then your install, then your coverage, and the choice narrows itself. For most professional patios the Heliosa is the sensible default: it is the one pick that answers all three questions with numbers you can act on. Wall-mount it, wire it to a 120V outlet, and the 160 sq ft coverage claim gives you a real zone to work with. If your patio needs a taller reach or you cannot run a fixed mount, order the OLIXIS instead and plan around the 18-foot diameter. Either way, buy for the space you actually have, not the space you wish you had.

Last updated: September 11, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.